After A Change In The Census Regulation, 13 Oregon Towns Are Now Considered “Rural”

13 Oregon Towns: Due to a new definition implemented by the United States Census Bureau for the next census in 2020, the status of slightly more than a dozen cities, towns, and unincorporated communities in the state of Oregon was altered from urban to rural. According to the bureau, these locations, which include Mount Hood Village, Boardman, and Irrigon, are now considered rural regions, joining more than 1,100 others throughout the country with a total population of 4.2 million people living in rural areas.

13 Oregon Towns Are Now Considered “Rural”

In order to meet the previous standards, an urbanized region is required to have a population of at least 50,000 people. A threshold of at least 2,500 people, which had been in place since 1910, was used to determine what was considered to be an urban cluster.

Read More:-

Following the implementation of the change in 2020, the needed minimum population for a region to be classified as urban increased to 5,000 people or a threshold of 2,000 dwelling units to be designated urban.

13 Oregon Towns Are Now Considered "Rural"
13 Oregon Towns Are Now Considered “Rural”

The following is an exhaustive list of all of the towns and villages in Oregon that have had their status altered to that of rural areas:

  • Boardman
  • Carlton
  • Gold Beach
  • Harrisburg
  • Irrigon
  • Lakeview
  • La Pine Northwest
  • Mount Angel
  • Mount Hood Village
  • Nyssa
  • Oakridge
  • Shady Cove
  • Toledo

The agency had previously recommended raising the threshold to 10,000 persons, but after hearing the feedback they withdrew their proposal. The revised criteria for urban areas cause a modest shift in the urban-rural ratio, which now stands at 79.6% urban areas to 20.4% rural regions.

The new criterion established by the Census Bureau may have an effect on a metropolitan area’s capacity to qualify for many forms of government assistance for transportation, housing, health care, education, and agriculture. Despite the fact that the federal government does not have a standardized definition of urban or rural, the definition provided by the Census Bureau is frequently used as a baseline.

The United States Census Bureau has made the most significant change in its definition of an urban area in several decades. Following the completion of a census once every ten years, the organization revises the definition in order to accommodate any new developments or requirements expressed by researchers and policymakers.

Read More:-

According to the bureau, this is done for statistical purposes, and the bureau has no influence over how other government agencies utilize the definitions to allocate cash.

You can visit for the latest information and news. If you have any queries or suggestions can put them in our comment section.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top