Blutreich Named Ducks’ Throws Coach (Latest News)

Jerry Schumacher, the head coach of the Ducks, revealed Wednesday that 1992 Olympian and two-time USTFCCCA National Assistant Coach of the Year Brian Blutreich will serve as the team’s new throws coach. Blutreich, who is familiar with the Pac-12, joins Eugene after serving as the throws team’s outstanding leader for six seasons at Arizona State.

In the previous 25 years, Blutreich has led his student-athletes to 28 NCAA championships, 81 conference titles, nearly 100 All-America honours, and five Olympians, in addition to successful stints at North Carolina and Oklahoma.

Read more:

According to Schumacher, Brian has become one of the top throws coaches in the world, who has known him for more than 20 years. “He will bring to Oregon unrivaled experience and a track record of success. Most importantly, Brian is committed to the growth of his student-athletes both on and off the playing field. I’m ecstatic about the prospect of working with you.”

The all-time collegiate top-10 lists feature numerous student-athletes from Blutreich, including Turner Washington in the men’s indoor shot throw and Jorinde van Klinken in the women’s discus, both of whom now hold NCAA records. In total, six of the top 10 performers in collegiate history were coached by Blutreich.

Washington, van Klinken, Maggie Ewen, Beatrice Llano, Tia Brooks-Wannemacher (from Oklahoma), and Laura Gerraughty are included in that list (at North Carolina)

Washington and van Klinken won NCAA indoor shot put championships in 2022, and van Klinken also added an NCAA outdoor discus championship. Washington and van Klinken placed second in the shot put at the NCAA Outdoor Championships at Hayward Field, Llano and Ralford Mullings placed third in the women’s hammer and men’s discus, respectively, and Shelby Moran placed fifth in the discus.

Washington and Ewen were both contenders for The Bowerman while Blutreich was in charge. With victories in the shot put indoors and outdoors and the discus outdoors, Washington won three NCAA titles and advanced to the finals in 2021. Along with Ryan Whiting in 2010 and Julian Wruck in 2015, he placed third in the men’s throws finals history.

Ewen, the only woman in NCAA history to win the shot put, discus, and hammer titles, was recognised in 2017 and 2018 as a back-to-back finalist for The Bowerman. She joined Raven Saunders as the only other women’s thrower on an exclusive list of finalists when she was designated one (2016).

Blutreich Olympians
Jorinde van Klinken (Netherlands), discus – 2020 Tokyo
Brittany Borman (United States), javelin – 2012 London
Tia Brooks (United States), shot put – 2012 London
Laura Gerraughty (USA), shot put – 2004 Athens
Vikas Gowda (India), shot put – 2004 Athens

In 2004, Blutreich led Gerraughty to triumphs at the U.S. Indoor Championships and U.S. Olympic Trials in addition to a clean sweep of the shot put NCAA indoor and outdoor championships. Blutreich was the men’s throws coach for Team USA at the 2002 World Junior Championships in Kingston, Jamaica, while he was still employed at Chapel Hill.


Blutreich, a native of Mission Viejo, California, was a discus champion twice for the Pac-10 (1989, 1990) and a six-time All-American at UCLA (1986–1990). The Bruins won three consecutive Pac-10 Championships and two NCAA team championships during his college career.

Logan and Brooke Lipson-Blutreich are the couple’s two daughters. Lipson-Blutreich, a skilled thrower in her own right, won the U.S. javelin championship three times and competed in the 2000 Summer Olympics in Sydney.

Dear readers, if you have any queries or suggestions can put them in our comment section by leaving a comment. Stay tuned with us for the latest news.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top